A non-profit William E. Swigart, Jr. Antique Automobile Museum can boast its rich history and unique exhibits that make up an integral part of American automobile history. The collection is about 85 years old and was started by William E. Swigart whose passion for classic cars and their history grew into a great matter. Soon his efforts were shared with his son, who followed his father's steps and managed to raise the number of collected cars up to 150. 30-35 cars are on a static display now.
Some of the displayed autos are very rare: the 1920 Carroll, the 1916 Scripps-Booth and the 1936 Duesenberg 12 cylinder Gentlemen's Speedster. Two Tuckers, the 1947 "Tin Goose" Prototype and #1013, are standing here side-by-side which is a peculiar feature of this museum. But that's not the only feature that makes the institution stand out amongst the others due the largest collections of automotive license plates and radiator emblems. Other auto related products such as lights and horns, toys, vintage clothing, bicycles also attract public's attention. To make the tour round the museum more complete, visit the gift shop, full of small things for everyone.
In addition to nice experience one may get at Swigart Museum, the institution offers amenities for your convenience: on site picnic tables, restrooms, parking area and nearby restaurants.
The museum is open daily from Memorial Day weekend through the end of October.